top of page

"Feeding Our Inner Light"

GUYS. I got to go on a Buddhist meditation retreat this weekend!!! A lot of people who know me probably know that this was like the equivalent of a trip to Disney World. We spent the weekend meditating, talking about our "inner light," and even got up at 3:30am for a sunrise ceremony.

I could go on about the ways that the Buddhist message speaks to me and validates my spirit- but for now, I thought I'd share one of the most interesting aspects of the retreat for me; the meal ceremony. On our first evening, we were told that we would be eating dinner through a formal monastic ceremonial meal. We dressed in baggy, amazingly comfortable pants and entered into a large, bright open room with cushions placed in rows along the floor. Unlike regular meals, which happen in the cafeteria, this ceremony could be more likened to the Eucharist in Catholicism- a sacred ritual that symbolized the Buddhist faith.

We sat down in asigned places and then watched an informational video about the eating process- we were to follow a very strict series of steps while consuming the meal- all done in silence. Thankfully, monks and nuns were scattered throughout to model the steps once the meal began. Essentially, we were given a set of stacking bowls and once the meal began, we were to silently unpack the bowls and arrange them in decreasing size on our mats. We were to keep a cleaning cloth on our left leg. We then bowed in gratitude for our meal and the processes which allowed it to be made. People began to serve rice and there were strict instructions about not taking too much or too little. Everything had to be consumed to eliminate waste but we also had to be conscious about not finishing before or after those around us in consideration of others. Once everyone had soup and rice, we passed around side dishes- fresh vegetables as Buddhists keep a vegetarian diet (!!). We ate silently in order to reconnect body and mind and appreciate the meal. I felt myself noticing tastes and sensations more than I have in a long time and feeling a lot of gratitude for my ability to eat and the privilege of never wanting for food.

(note: this picture is stolen from someone else's blog, I didn't bring my phone)

Then, when it was time to clean up, the ceremony calls for participants to completely eliminate waste by cleaning each bowl with water and a radish (!) and then, after several rinses in each bowl in order, actually drinking the water. (!!!!) So, you drink this ricey water with vegetable undertones and wipe the bowls until they look like new- an ancient method of reducing your environmental footprint.

StartFragmentThough it sounds a little nasty, dinner was potentially the highest point of the retreat for me. It reminded me why I so value nutrition as part of a loving life-style. Eating is a sacred act. As we consume what this earth has given us, we sustain our bodies but also become part of a larger cycle of interconnectedness. A nun at the temple said, "Everything and everyone is just a different shape of me." Making thoughtful decisions about what you and consuming mindfully puts you more at peace with yourself and others. EndFragment

I'm planning on attempting to continue feeding my Inner Light this year by living mindfully. I hope you'll join me!

bottom of page